Skip to content

On This Day In History | 1993

February 6, 2015
The 1993 wrestling squad

The 1993 wrestling squad

On this day 22 years ago, the Wrestling team won the six-team Thomas Brohard ’25 Wrestling Tournament, topping runner-up Greenport, 195-189.

The Bears had three individual champions in Brett Boyle (100 lbs), Adam Belesimo (126 lbs), and Rich Droscoski (135 lbs).

Other place winners for the Brook were Dan Popkave (107 lbs/3rd place), Al Cardi (115 lbs/2nd), Mike Hoskins (115 lbs/3rd), Angelo Gagliano (119 lbs/3rd), JiWeon Yun (145 lbs/2nd), Hanif Granville (155 lbs/3rd), Carl Trezza (177 lbs/2nd), Gabriel Chagas (215/3rd), and Pat Noto (250 lbs/2nd).

Droscoski would go on to become the individual League VI Champion with an 11-7 decision. Other place winners at the League Championship were Boyle, Belesimo, Dave Metz, and Trezza.



No comments yet

Leave a comment! GO BEARS!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: