Class Night 2021

Romeus ruled the pitch in the fall (PC: Bruce Jeffrey)

For the second year in a row, we were unable to gather together in Swanson Gymnasium for our annual Class Night, an evening of celebration for the academic, athletic, and leadership accomplishments from the school year. Nevertheless, the outstanding achievements from a memorable 99th year of Blue & White athletics are worthy of recognition.


Major Athletic Awards

John Long Manager’s Award

Given to the athletic team manager who shows the responsibility and dedication demonstrated by John Long, Class of ’75.

For her service to the girls’ lacrosse team, it is my honor to present this award to…

  • Kylie Quigley

Clyde L. Mellinger Award

Two trophies in memory of Clyde L. Mellinger, the first Director of Athletics at The Stony Brook School, awarded to the eighth grade girl and boy, who have best demonstrated good sportmanship, courage, and best use of ability.

For their impact on two varsity teams, it is my honor to present this award to…

  • Logan Charboneau & Caroline Cho

The Bear Blanket

Presented to athletes who demonstrate a consistent contribution of quality performances in athletic competition based on a points system and an application.

  • Forest Kaplan-Walbrecht
  • Lilly Keegan
  • Madison Logan
  • Ava McCormick
  • Mo Romeus
  • Malik Ulysse

Marvin W. Goldberg Coach’s Award

Awarded to the coach who has demonstrated professionalism, expertise and compassion towards his or her athletic team. This award is voted upon by the varsity coaches of the Stony Brook School, lending the recipient the admiration of his or her peers.

  • Johnny Everitt

Swanson Trophy for Superior Performance

Two trophies awarded in memory of the late Robert S. and Louise Swanson by Mary Jane and John P. Swanson ’47 for superior male and female athletic performance.

For leading all Long Island girls’ lacrosse players in goals, points, and ground balls, it is my honor to present the Female Performance Award to…

  • Morgan Ruggieri

For winning three individual events at the PSAA Track & Field Championships and earning meet MVP honors, it is my privilege to present the Male Performance Award to…

  • Mo Romeus

Swanson Trophy for Best All-Around Athlete

Two trophies awarded in memory of the late Robert S. and Louise Swanson by Mary Jane and John P. Swanson ’47 to the persons whose all-around ability, sportsmanship, and courage in varsity competition enabled them to make the greatest contribution to Stony Brook teams.

For winning four individual PSAA Championships in cross country and track this year and serving as a basketball captain, it is my honor to present the Female Best All-Around Athlete Award to…

  • Sarah Wong

For garnering All-PSAA recognition in two sports, earning a runner-up finish at the cross country championships, serving as a basketball captain, and winning three individual crowns at the track & field championships, it is my honor to present the Male Best All-Around Athlete Award to…

  • Colin Scanlon

Bruce Finlay Vanderveer Award

The Vanderveer Trophy is our school’s oldest athletic award. Endowed in memory of Bruce Vanderveer ’31 and presented to the athlete who has shown the highest qualitties of sportsmanship. For 82 years it was presented specifically to a football player. Now it represents the standard for which every Stony Brook athlete should strive.

This is our school’s oldest athletic award and is given to the athlete who best exemplifies the spirit with which a Stony Brook athlete should compete. The simplest way to explain the impact of this year’s recipient is to say that everyone on the team wanted to be his doubles partner. He remained positive in the face of adversity and showed the same grace and sportsmanship whether he won or last. He was quite simply the backbone of the boys’ tennis team’s first PSAA tournament championship this year. It is my honor to present this award to…

  • Jaden Lee


Fall Athletic Awards

Marvin Goldberg Boys’ Cross Country Award

Endowed by the late David W. Cloos, M.D. ’61 and Nancy Cloos Babin.

  • Performance: Colin Scanlon
  • Contribution: Tiger Wang

Girls’ Cross Country Award

  • Performance: Sarah Wong
  • Contribution: Evelyn Apazidis

Golf Award

  • Performance: Michael Chen
  • Contribution: Harry Apazidis

Fall Dinghy Sailing Award

  • Performance: Steven Hardee
  • Contribution: Lilly Jette

Brandon Stuckey Boys’ Soccer Award

Endowed by Phyllis and Schuyler Stuckey with love and pride for their son, Brandon Stuckey ’93.

  • Performance: Mo Romeus
  • Contribution: Malik Ulysse

Girls’ Soccer Award

  • Performance: Madison Logan
  • Contribution: Kayla Ochei

Fall Swimming Award

  • Performance: Oliver Griffin
  • Contribution: Kate Von Savage

Buyers Girls’ Tennis Award

  • Performance: Carina Cristobal
  • Contribution: Alanna Wu

Volleyball Award

  • Performance: Lilly Keegan
  • Contribution: Shannuel Lamptey


Winter Athletic Awards

Taft Boys’ Basketball Award

Endowed by Lyman Taft ’45.

  • Performance: Colin Scanlon
  • Contribution: Lee-Anthony Santiago

Girls’ Basketball Award

  • Performance: Niamh Scanlon
  • Contribution: Sarah Wong

Winter Swimming Award

  • Performance: Amelia Griffin
  • Contribution: Sam Specht

Norman J. Wiedersum Wrestling Award

Endowed by Norman J. Wiedersum ’39.

  • Performance: Joe Isola
  • Contribution: Zane Obiofuma


Spring Athletic Awards

Boys’ Badminton Award

  • Performance: Luqman Bare
  • Contribution: Aidan Riley

Girls’ Badminton Award

  • Performance: Natalie Desire
  • Contribution: Annie Cao

Swanson Baseball Award

Given by Mary Jane and John P. Swanson ’47.

  • Performance: Justin Porrino
  • Contribution: Jojo Franco

Boys’ Lacrosse Award

  • Performance: Bobby Reuter
  • Contribution: Joe Spreckels

Girls’ Lacrosse Award

  • Performance: Emily Berger
  • Contribution: Morgan Ruggieri

Spring Dinghy Sailing Award

  • Performance: Steven Hardee
  • Contribution: Lilly Jette

Pierson Curtis Boys’ Tennis Award

Given by the family of Mr. Jan C. Parmentier ’43, in memory of the School’s first tennis coach.

  • Performance: Jake Macaspac
  • Contribution: Jaden Lee

Downey Boys’ Track Award

Given by the family of Bill and Earl Downey ’45, in their memory.

  • Performance: Colin Scanlon
  • Contribution: Mo Romeus

Laura J. Shybunko Memorial Girls’ Track Award

Endowed by the family of Laura J. Shybunko, mother of Donna Shybunko ’83 and Anne Shybunko Moore ’89, in memory of her life of courage and strength.

  • Performance: Sarah Wong
  • Contribution: Kayla Ochei



Leave a comment! GO BEARS!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s