Volleyball Team Cleans Up at Awards Dinner

Volleyball 2016 Counties
The team celebrates moments after winning the County final (PC: Linnea Piazza)

On Monday, December 5, the volleyball team attended the annual Suffolk County Volleyball Coaches Association awards dinner and took home a slew of honors.

All-League recognition went to Hannah Detwiler and Lois Ezi, All-County honors went to Elizabeth Robbins and Sam Petersen, and an All-State slot was given to Robbins. In addition, Detwiler, Petersen, and Robbins earned a place on the Suffolk County Class C All-Tournament Team, with Robbins taking home MVP honors. Head coach Stan Winston was awarded the League VIII Coach of the Year Award.

The highlight of the night was Stan Winston being awarded the Teri Tiso Award for Coaching. The award is presented “to a coach who has demonstrated excellence in coaching volleyball, provided service to the Suffolk County volleyball community, and demonstrates high standards of sportsmanship and ethical behavior.” In her presentation speech, Toni Mulgrave, the president of the Suffolk County Volleyball Coaches Association, spoke about how Stan took a winless team from the previous season and guided them to their first County title in his first year back from a coaching hiatus brought on by cancer six years ago. It was the perfect close to a wonderful night and an unforgettable season.


Volleyball 2016 Counties


One comment

Leave a comment! GO BEARS!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s